Must Read Story #1


10th grade

As I sat there in English
class, I stared at the girl
next to me. She was my
so called “best friend”. I
stared at her long, silky
hair, and wished she was
mine. But she didn’t
notice me like that, and I
knew it. After class, she
walked up to me and
asked me for the notes
she had missed the day
before and handed them
to her. She said “thanks”
and gave me a kiss on the
cheek. I wanted to tell
her, I want her to know
that I don’t want to be
just friends, I love her but
I’m just too shy, and I
don’t know why.

11th grade

The phone rang. On the
other end, it was her. She
was in tears, mumbling
on and on about how her
love had broke her heart.
She asked me to come
over because she didn’t
want to be alone, so I did.
As I sat next to her on the
sofa, I stared at her soft
eyes, wishing she was
mine. After 2 hours, one
Drew Barrymore movie,
and three bags of chips,
she decided to go to
sleep. She looked at me,
said “thanks” and gave
me a kiss on the cheek. I
want to tell her, I want
her to know that I don’t
want to be just friends, I
love her but I’m just too
shy, and I don’t know
why.

Senior year

The day before prom she
walked to my locker. My
date is sick” she said; he’s
not going to go well, I
didn’t have a date, and in
7th grade, we made a
promise that if neither of
us had dates, we would
go together just as “best
friends”. So we did. Prom
night, after everything was
over, I was standing at
her front door step. I
stared at her as she
smiled at me and stared
at me with her crystal
eyes. I want her to be
mine, but she isn’t think
of me like that, and I
know it. Then she said “I
had the best time,
thanks!” and gave me a
kiss on the cheek. I want
to tell her, I want her to
know that I don’t want to
be just friends, I love her
but I’m just too shy, and I
don’t know why.

Graduation Day

A day passed, then a
week, then a month.
Before I could blink, it
was graduation day. I
watched as her perfect
body floated like an angel
up on stage to get her
diploma. I wanted her to
be mine, but she didn’t
notice me like that, and I
knew it. Before everyone
went home, she came to
me in her smock and hat,
and cried as I hugged
her. Then she lifted her
head from my shoulder
and said, “you’re my best
friend, thanks” and gave
me a kiss on the cheek. I
want to tell her, I want
her to know that I don’t
want to be just friends, I
love her but I’m just too
shy, and I don’t know
why.

A Few Years Later.

Now I sit in the pews of
the church. That girl is
getting married now. I
watched her say “I do”
and drive off to her new
life, married to another
man. I wanted her to be
mine, but she didn’t see
me like that, and I knew it.
But before she drove
away, she came to me
and said “you came!”. She
said “thanks” and kissed
me on the cheek. I want
to tell her, I want her to
know that I don’t want to
be just friends, I love her
but I’m just too shy, and I
don’t know why.

Funeral

Years passed, I looked
down at the coffin of a
girl who used to be my
“best friend”. At the
service, they read a diary
entry she had wrote in
her high school years.
This is what it read: I
stare at him wishing he
was mine, but he doesn’t
notice me like that, and I
know it. I want to tell him,
I want him to know that I
don’t want to be just
friends, I love him but I’m
just too shy, and I don’t
know why. I wish he
would tell me he loved
me! `I wish I did too…` I
thought to my self, and I
cried.

2 thoughts on “Must Read Story #1

  1. I simply want to say I’m new to blogs and definitely savored your blog site. More than likely I’m planning to bookmark your website . You amazingly come with wonderful articles and reviews. Thanks a lot for sharing your web-site.

Leave a Reply

